advice for newbie

What are the most suitable boards/sails/wetsuits...

Moderator: Moderators

ScottB
complete beginner

advice for newbie

Post by ScottB »

Hi,

I'm new to windsurfing after learning during fantastic 2 weeks with Neilson last Sep.

I'm planning on taking a few trips over to here http://www.gwent-adventures.co.uk/ and hiring for a while, but would really like to pick up my own gear at some point this year.

I'd say I'm an early intermediate after learning with neilson and a trip to Rutland water. Not quite planing yet, but comfortable getting up wind and tacking and gybing.

I came across this package http://www.surfstore.co.uk/starboard-ri ... -3136.html and was wondering if this could be a good starting set up for me, or should I aim for some 2nd hand kit from ebay?

any advise would be appreciated.

Cheers,

Scott
Graham_U
surf god
surf god

Re: advice for newbie

Post by Graham_U »

From what I've seen the Rio is very much a beginning board, which is fine for how you describe your levels. But if you get hooked you will soon outgrow it. Whilst a rig package is often good value, for a board its better to get something secondhand to start with and you will be less concerned if you ding it. Save the money for when you get to an intermediate board.

Had a quick look at Windy World site, and they do a similar offer, which if you join the club you get 10%+ off.
http://www.windsurfersworld.com/index.p ... Itemid=180
Graham
ScottB
complete beginner

Post by ScottB »

Ok, thanks for the advice. I've got my eye on a few likely looking boards on eBay at the moment so fingers crossed.

I do intend to join nomads. I just want to get a few uk sessions under my belt, then sort some kit so I can realistically join you without having to worry about hiring etc.
dro
surf god
surf god

Post by dro »

As someone who barely got past beginner I would definately recomend NOT buying your first kit new.