Beginner advice please!

What are the most suitable boards/sails/wetsuits...

Moderator: Moderators

DanD
complete beginner

Beginner advice please!

Post by DanD »

Hi guys
I’m a new member and relatively new to windsurfing.
I spent a summer windsurfing with friends in Australia and caught the bug. I got in the straps plaining a few times, and water started a couple of times, but it was mostly down to luck rather than judgement!
I’d like to take it up over here and was after some advice relating to where to go and kit set-up.
I live in Bristol and would ideally like to sail in Weston Super Mare or nearby but I’ve heard it gets quite choppy. Is it too difficult for novices or are there conditions that I might be ok in?
I’m also after a board. I’ve seen a Naish nitrix at 155 ltr and a Goya FXR at 145 ltr. I’m about 80KG and 6ft. Mostly up-hauling at the mo but keen to learn waterstarts and gybing.
I’d be very grateful for any advice.
Many thanks
Cheers
Dan
Graham_U
surf god
surf god

Re: Beginner advice please!

Post by Graham_U »

I'm not expert but a keen late adopter who can just about survive at Weston in most conditions, there are far more competent windsurfer in the club. A warning, WSM is not ideal for beginners as its can get quite wavy so you really need to be comfortable waterstarting, it can often be difficult to get off the beach especially near high tide and sailing time is limited. With the mud and sand its not ideal for nice shiny new kit.